import/export...and everything in between

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Grouplove Unveil New Video For "Tongue Tied", Plot Fall Tour

Los Angeles' Grouplove are definitely continuing to make a name for themselves amongst music fans with their third video "Tongue Tied". Filmed in London on the hottest day of the year, the band were stuck partying it up with no air conditioner. Good thing they were allowed to be hot and sweaty in the video.

The band will be doing some heavy touring through the summer and fall in support of their upcoming release "Never Trust A Happy Song", out September 13th.

Here are the tour dates:

31 Woodford, AUS Splendour in the Grass

2 Melbourne, AUS Corner Hotel
3 Sydney, AUS Oxford Art Factory
6 Chicago, IL Lollapalooza
14 San Francisco, CA Outside Lands
26-28 Reading, ENG / Leeds, ENG Reading and Leeds

5 London, ENG XOYO
9 Washington, DC Black Cat**
10 Philadelphia, PA North Star**
13 Boston, MA Brighton Music Hall**
14 New York, NY Bowery Ballroom** (RECORD RELEASE)
16 Chicago, IL Subterranean**
19 Denver, CO Larimer Lounge
22 Los Angeles, CA Wiltern Theatre (supporting Two Door Cinema Club)
23 San Francisco, CA Warfield (supporting Two Door Cinema Club)
24 San Diego, CA House of Blues (supporting Two Door Cinema Club)
28 Portland, OR Peter's Room
30 Seattle, WA Vera Project

1 Vancouver, BC Electric Owl
5 Minneapolis, MN The Varsity*
6 Madison, WI The Frequency*
11 Nashville, TN Mercy Lounge*
13 Atlanta, GA Masquerade*
15 Pensacola, FL DeLuna Fest*
17 New Orleans, LA One Eyed Jacks*
20 Austin, TX Emo's*
21 Dallas, TX Prophet Bar*
22 Houston, TX Fitzgerald's*
25 Tucson, AZ Congress
26 Los Angeles, CA El Rey Theatre

Monday, July 25, 2011

Likely Listens: Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - The Death Of You And Me

Noel Gallagher is back and FINALLY we have some music to check out! Just released is the brand new video for "The Death Of You ANd Me", the first single off Noel's upcoming album which is set for release in the U.S. November 10th.

The track reminds me a lot of "The Importance Of Being Idle" off of Oasis' 2005 release "Don't Believe The Truth"...but knowing Noel he's had this song in his back pocket for years.

Regardless of when it was written and where it came from, its nice to hear some new material from the man that wrote some of the best songs written EVER.

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Likely Listens: M83 - Midnight City

M83 is back and they've got a first single to prove that Anthony Gonzales will remain the leading king of modern day shoegaze. Releasing their first single, Midnight City, the track keeps to the typical M83 style of breathy vocals and dreamy pop beats but offers a more upbeat side to the band for a change.

Featuring vocals by the incredible Morgan Kibby (M83, White Sea) and Zola Jesus, this track is a wonderful taste of what to expect from Gonzales' latest creation.

Have a listen to Midnight City here:

The track proceeds the upcoming double album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, which will be released October 18, 2011 on Mute Records. The band will also hit the road in support of the release with the tour set to kick off 3 days before the album's release date.

Here are the upcoming M83 tour dates:

Oct. 15 – Mexico City – Corona Capital Festival
Oct. 28 – Washington DC – Black Cat
Oct. 29 – Raleigh, NC – Kings Barcade
Oct. 30 – Asheville, NC – Moog Fest
Oct. 31 – Atlanta, GA – Masquerade
Nov. 1 – Tallahassee, FL – Engine Room
Nov. 2 – Orlando, FL – The Social
Nov. 4 – Houston, TX – Warehouse Live
Nov. 5 – Austin, TX – Fun Fun Fun Fest
Nov. 7 – Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom
Nov. 9 – Los Angeles, CA – Music Box
Nov. 10 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent
Nov. 11 – Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom
Nov. 12 – Vancouver, BC – Venue
Nov. 13 – Seattle, WA – Neumos
Nov. 16 – Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theater
Nov. 17 – Chicago, IL – Lincoln Hall
Nov. 18 – Toronto, ON – Lees Palace
Nov. 19 – Montreal, QC – Le S.A.T.
Nov. 20 – Boston, MA – Paradise
Nov. 22 – New York, NY – Webster Hall

Remembering Amy Winehouse: 1983-2011

Amy Winehouse was known for her drinking binges, drug escapades and everything else self destructive under the sun; but the music is what really made the world focus on her. Taking the UK by storm in 2003 with her debut album Frank, Winehouse moved the needle with tracks like Fuck Me Pumps and Stronger Than Me. Coming out with a sound that was missing from music for a long time; combining 60's girl group throwbacks and Motown with her own unique twist, Amy Winehouse truly was an extraordinary talent.

In 2006, coming out with her masterpiece Back To Black was really the defining moment in her career. That voice. Those songs. That attitude. Winehouse breathed new life into an industry filled with manufactured pop stars with her sound and the personality that went along with it. Attracting an audience of everyone from indie kids to hip hop heads, her music and talent translated to the masses worldwide. Paving the way for artists such as the now multi platinum Adele and Duffy, Winehouse is and will always will be the woman that broke down doors for a lot of the female singers we know and love today.

Sadly, the world only got to experience 2 incredible albums and 27 years of life with Winehouse but her legacy will go on forever. R.I.P. Amy.

Wednesday, July 06, 2011

Noel Gallagher Announces Not One But TWO Solo Albums

So it seems there IS life after Oasis and the brothers Gallagher have truly went their separate ways. After Oasis' monumental break up in Paris, Liam of course went on to form Beady Eye and Noel now officially has announced his solo releases.

The first one, produced by Dave Sardy, is titled Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds and set for release on October 17th in the UK and November 10th in the US. The second album's title is TBD but will be out in 2012. Sardy is no stranger to working with Gallagher as he produced both Don't Believe The Truth and Dig Out Your Soul for Oasis.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds was recorded in Los Angeles and features some backing musicians in addition to Gallagher. Plans to tour off the release in the fall are in the works but dates have yet to be announced.

Track listing below:

1. Everybody’s On The Run
2. Dream On
3. If I Had A Gun…
4. The Death Of You And Me
5. (I Wanna Live In A Dream In My) Record Machine
6. AKA… What A Life!
7. Soldier Boys And Jesus Freaks
8. AKA… Broken Arrow
9. (Stranded On) The Wrong Beach
10. Stop The Clocksl

Knowing Noel, this record will probably be quite fantastic.

UPDATE! Here is video from the press conference Noel held in London today

Tuesday, July 05, 2011

Likely Looks: Cher Lloyd - Swagger Jagger

Who knows exactly what "swagger jagger" is remains to be seen, but it seems as though the 3rd runner up on this season's X Factor in the UK is making it a new catch phrase. The tune hits hard and will end up being in your head ALL DAY so beware. Plus, the video is pretty sweet...